Ireland to introduce a visa waiver programme

Posted: Fri 13 May, 2011 2:50 PM

The finance minister of Ireland has announced a reform in the visa requirements for visitors to Ireland. This is part of the Irish government’s initiative to support the tourism industry in its efforts to attract visitors to Ireland from new and emerging markets.

The minister made the announcement on May 10, 2011, and introduced the visa waiver programme, which will run initially as a pilot scheme and may then be amended or extended when necessary. According to a report in eTurbo News, the visa waiver programme allows holders of UK visas, who have been cleared from immigrations in the UK, to enter Ireland as many times as they like and stay up to the limit of their 180-day UK visa. This visa waiver programme covers business and tourist visitors. It will run from July 1, 2011 to October 2012.

The countries that are included in the visa waiver programme are Belarus, Montenegro, Russian Federation, Serbia, Turkey, and Ukraine in Eastern Europe; Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and United Arab Emirates in the Middle East; and India, People’s Republic of China, and Uzbekistan in Asia.

Pata news


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: